GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Judith Krug Fund Banned Books Week Event Grant

Grants to USA Nonprofits, Libraries, Schools, and
Universities to Raise Awareness About Censorship Issues

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants of $1,000 and grants of $2,500 to USA nonprofit organizations, libraries, schools, and universities for programs and activities that raise awareness about censorship issues and intellectual freedom. Proposed activities must take place during the week of September 22nd through the 28th, during the annual Banned Books Week celebration.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 144035

Estimated Size of Grant:

Grants are awarded at two levels, $1,000 and $2,500.

Term of Contract:

Proposed activities must take place during the annual Banned Books Week celebration (September 22-28, 2019).

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

FTRF distributes grants to non-profit organizations. Libraries, schools, and universities are encouraged to apply.

To be eligible for a grant, organizations must not have been a recipient of an FTRF grant within the past five years.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for submitting applications is April 30, 2019.

The 2019 Banned Books Week celebration is September 22-28, 2019.

Grantees are encouraged to share their events on social media and local press.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

Freedom to Read Foundation
50 East Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611

Phone: 312.280.4226
Toll-free: 800.545.2433 ext 4226

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming