GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Print Journalism Awards

Awards to USA Journalists for Outstanding Writing
and Reporting on Healthcare Financing and Policy

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $15,000 and $20,000 to USA journalists to recognize outstanding contributions to writing and reporting on healthcare delivery and financing, and the impact of healthcare policy. Entries will be judged on the quality of reporting, relevance, the impact on healthcare policy, and new insights offered. One award will be made in each of the following two categories:

-General Circulation Print Journalism Award
-Trade Journalism Award

Selection Criteria:
-New insights generated by the reporting
-Impact on health care policy
-Quality of reporting
-Relevance to one or both of the subject areas (financing and delivery of health care and/or the impact of health care policy)

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182918

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The 25-year-old Print Journalism Award carries a $20,000 prize and the Trade Publication Award carries a $15,000 prize.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

-Articles must originally have been published during the calendar year 2018.
-General Circulation Print: Entries will be accepted from newspapers and magazines and their websites. Entries will also be accepted from independent news sites.
-Trade: Entries will be accepted from publications written for a specialty audience.
-Articles should be timely and produce new insights into health care financing and delivery or health care policy.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for entries is February 1, 2019.

Entry is free. Limit three entries per entrant. An individual can submit three entries for General Circulation and three entries for Trade, the two categories are considered two separate awards.

The judges select finalists by mid-March, and all entrants will be notified of the finalist decision shortly thereafter.

The winners will be selected by the judges in April and announced publicly at an awards dinner in Washington, DC on May 13, 2019.


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Entry System:

1225 19th St. NW, Suite 710
Washington, DC 20036

P: 202-296-4426
F: 202-296-4319

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming