GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Innovation in Regulatory Science Award (IRSA)

Grants to USA and Canada College Faculty
to Support Research in Regulatory Science

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF)

Deadline Date:

02/06/19 4:00 PM EST


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA and Canada academic researchers who are faculty or adjunct faculty members at a North American degree-granting institution. Funding is intended to support the development of innovative approaches and new methodologies in regulatory science. These changes will ultimately inform the regulatory decisions that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and others make.

Academic researchers who have been trained in mathematics, computer science, applied physics, medicine, engineering, toxicology, epidemiology, biostatistics, systems pharmacology, food safety and nutrition, and other fields may apply. Selection will be based on the creativity of the proposal and its potential to lead to significant innovation in regulatory science, as well as on the appropriateness of the environment in which the project is to be conducted, and its potential impact on the careers of investigators. The translation of possible results of the research to improving the regulatory process will be an important consideration in the selection process.

Support allocated for research is under the control of the award recipient and may be used flexibly for such items as equipment, consumable supplies, travel to scientific meetings, and laboratory personnel working with the award recipient.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 178597

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Foundation provides up to $500,000 over 5 years.

Term of Contract:

Grants will provide up to $500,000 over a five-year period and are expected to begin in September 2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

These awards are open to USA and Canadian citizens or permanent residents who have a faculty or adjunct faculty appointment at a North American degree-granting institution.

Awards are made to degree-granting institutions in the USA or Canada on behalf of the awardee.

Further Eligibility Guidelines:

- Candidates may self-nominate but need to obtain approval by an official for sponsored programs at the institution where the work will be performed.
- Candidates must hold an M.D., Ph.D., D.V.M., D.D.S., or M.D.-PhThis opportunity is appropriate for individuals.D. degree.
- Candidates must be based at a nonprofit institution [501(c)(3) or equivalent] in the USA or Canada; grants are made to the institutions on behalf of the award recipient.
- Candidates must hold a faculty position, tenure-track or non-tenure track, or adjunct faculty position at an accredited, degree-granting institution in the United States or Canada.
- Candidates must be an investigator at the adjunct, assistant, associate, or full professor level.
- Primary investigators are required to devote no less than 50% of their time to research-related activities.
- BWF strongly encourages applications from women and underrepresented minorities, including Blacks or African Americans, Hispanics or Latinos, Native Americans, Alaskan Natives or Native Hawaiians.

Note: Citizens and non-citizen permanent and temporary residents of the USA and Canada who are legally qualified to work in the USA or Canada are eligible. Candidates who are temporary USA residents must hold a valid USA visa (J-1, H1B, F-1 or O-1 visas). Temporary Canadian residents must hold a valid Canadian visa (Study Permit, C-43, C44, C-10, or C-20 work permits/visas). If a grant is awarded and your visa does not allow for such a stay, BWF may terminate the grant. BWF will not intercede on behalf of non-citizens whose stay in the USA may be limited by their visa status. If you are invited to submit a full application, your institution must verify your immigration status as part of your application.


- Postdocs are not eligible.
- Candidates who currently hold a BWF award are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

Award Timeline:

- February 6, 2019: Application deadline
- June 4-5, 2019: In-person interviews
- July 2019: Notice of award
- September 1, 2019: Awards begin

First, complete the eligibility quiz to determine if you are eligible to apply. If the applicant meets the eligibility criteria, you will be allowed to access the application form.

Two recommendation letters from individuals who are familiar with the applicant’s qualifications are required and must be uploaded to the application by the letter writers.

All proposals must be submitted through the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Grant Application System IGAM application.

Note: Applications must be submitted by the principal or primary investigator (PI). The PI may have up to a total of two co-investigators. Co-investigators need not be at the same institution; however, one person must be designated as the primary investigator and must meet all eligibility requirements.

Notification will be sent to finalists by the end of April 2019.

Applicant Instructions:

Recommender Instructions:

Frequently Asked Questions:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Click here to begin the application:

To access a saved proposal:

Eligibility inquiries should be directed in advance to BWF program staff by contacting:

John Burris, Ph.D. Interim Program Officer

Tiffanie Taylor, Program Associate

Ruth Reynolds, Senior Program Assistant

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon