Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Teacher Innovator Awards

Awards to USA PreK-12 Educators and School Staff
for Innovative and Inspiring Teaching Methods

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Henry Ford

Deadline Date:

02/28/18 11:59 AM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA PreK-12 classroom teachers, school staff, and homeschool educators who demonstrate innovative educational methods. These awards are intended to recognize teachers who inspire their students to challenge the rules and take risks, who demonstrate how to be collaborative and empathetic, and teach the value of learning from staying curious and learning from failure.


Grand Prize:

Ten (10) Grand Prize winners will each receive a 5-day “Innovation Immersion Experience” at The Henry Ford. The Trip package includes roundtrip coach air transportation for the winner from a major airport closest to winner’s residence (determined by Sponsor in its sole discretion) to Detroit, MI. Also included are five (5) nights’ accommodations at a hotel (determined by Sponsor in its sole discretion), eight (8) meals (menus determined by Sponsor in its sole discretion) and a behind the scenes tour of the Henry Ford by curators along with a recognition ceremony.

Each winner must travel on July 28, 2018 and return on August 2, 2018. Travel and accommodations are subject to availability and blackout dates. Travel must be round trip. Sponsor will determine airline and flight itinerary in its sole discretion. Travel restrictions, conditions and limitations may apply. If in the judgment of Sponsor air travel is not required due to winner’s proximity to prize location, ground transportation will be substituted for round trip air travel at Sponsor’s sole discretion.

The approximate retail value of the Grand Prize Award is $2,000. Actual value may vary based on airfare fluctuations and distance between departure and destination.

First Place Award:

Ten (10) First Prize winners will each receive a copy of Innovation Nation Season 1, 2 or 3 DVD (determined by Sponsor in its sole discretion) and The Henry Ford merchandise (determined by Sponsor in its sole discretion). The approximate retail value of the First Place awards is $100.

If actual value of any Prize is lower than the stated approximate retail value when the Prize is procured and fulfilled, then the difference will not be awarded. By accepting a Prize, the Winners agree to release the Released Parties from any and all liability whatsoever for any injuries, losses, or damages of any kind caused by entering the promotion or for damages of any kind caused by any Prize or resulting from acceptance, possession, or use/misuse of Prize awarded. All other expenses, including, but not limited to taxes, not specifically mentioned herein are the responsibility of the Winners. The Prizes are not exchangeable, transferable, or redeemable for cash. There are no substitutions unless specified by the Sponsor. The Sponsor reserves the right in its sole discretion to substitute any Prize (or Prize component) with another Prize of equal or greater value.

Judging Criteria:

- Biographical Information/Narrative;
- Curriculum Sample/Lesson Plan;
- Classroom Examples;
- Resourcefulness; and
- Positive Impact.

Bonus points will be given to any submission that includes a lesson plan that incorporates digital assets from the available episodes of The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation and/or The Henry Ford's Online Collections.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177403

Number of Grants:

There will be 10 Grand Prize awards as well as 10 First Place awards.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The approximate retail value of the Grand Prize Award is $2,000.
The approximate retail value of the First Place awards is $100.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The Contest is open and offered only to legal residents of the USA including D.C. who have reached the age of majority in their state of residence and who is also a Pre-K through 12th Grade Classroom Educator (Public, Private or Charter School), Pre-K through 12th Grade Library Media Specialist or Technology Specialist/Coordinator, a Pre-K through 12th Grade Homeschool Educator, or a Pre-K through 12th Grade Head Start or Licensed Day Care Teacher.

Employees of the Sponsor, their parent, affiliates, subsidiaries, agents, advertising and promotion agencies, and American Sweepstakes and Promotion Company, Inc. (the “Administrator”) (collectively, “Released Parties”) and members of the immediate family (mother, father, sons, daughters and spouse, regardless of where they reside) and household members of each such employee, whether or not related, are not eligible to participate in the Contest. Participation constitutes entrant's full and unconditional agreement to and acceptance of these official rules. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Pre-Application Information:

The “Henry Ford Innovation Nation Teacher Innovator Awards” (the “Contest”) begins at 12:00 a.m., Eastern Time (“ET”) on December 1, 2017 and ends at 11:59 a.m., (“ET”) on February 28, 2018 ("Contest Period"). Winners will be announced June 11, 2018.

Each entrant may enter the Contest one (1) time during the Contest Period.

For The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation:

The potential Grand Prize and First Prize winners will be contacted by the Administrator via telephone and/or email on or about June 4, 2018.

See Official Rules document (link below) for additional application information.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To submit an entry:

General Contact Information for The Henry Ford:

Mail: The Henry Ford
20900 Oakwood Blvd.
Dearborn, MI 48124-5029

Call Center: 313-982-6001

Online Contact Form:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming