Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

NCTE Donald H. Graves Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Writing

Award to a USA K-6 Writing Teacher for Excellence
in Facilitating Student Growth in Writing

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)

Deadline Date:

06/15/17 Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA K-6 teacher who teaches writing and demonstrates an understanding of student improvement in writing. The nominee must submit an essay detailing their beliefs on the importance of writing and how he or she encourages and facilitates student growth. In addition to a reflective essay, teachers must provide student samples with his or her commentary.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160630

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

USA K-6 teachers who teach writing may apply.

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination applications should include the following:
- Reflective Essay
- Three portfolios of student writing
- Information Sheet

See the URL for Full Text below for more details.

The NCTE Elementary Section Steering Committee selects an award recipient from the portfolios and essays submitted during the year. If the Committee feels that no significant portfolios or essays have been submitted, the award may be postponed until the next year.

The award recipient is presented a certificate and honorarium at the Elementary Section Get-Together during the NCTE Annual Convention in Louis, Missouri, on November 16-19, 2017.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nominations should be sent to or by postal mail to:

NCTE Graves Writing Award
1111 W. Kenyon Road
Urbana, IL 61801-1096

Email contact form:
Phone: 217-328-3870 or 877-369-6283

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming